Sound Edit # 1

For my first mash-up/sound edit I wanted to incorporate the intro theme song of the 90’s show ‘Rugrats’ as a sample. With some kind of rap over the top.

I found this high quality version of the intro:

I cut the first 2 seconds from the start and repaired the final part of the first section to have a cleaner ending (seconds 12-13 the glitchy sounds start. I cut those sounds out and replaced them with the cleaner sections of the  final note of the section from about 1 second earlier). Once I had made this loop as good as I could, I began searching for a rap acapella to place over the top. I found one fairly easily, simply by searching for an acapella by my favourite hip hop artist ‘The Notorious B.I.G’. I decided on the acapella of his song ‘Juicy’.

Here is the original version of ‘Juicy’:

Here is the acapella version:

I also wanted to make some kind of chorus for in between the rap sections. I wanted this ‘chorus’ to be derived from the rugrats television show. I found two samples to use. I used this scream from Chuckie:

And I also used Tommy saying “wow Chuckie” from this video:

This is a screenshot before I added the ‘chorus’ sample:

Screen shot 2015-09-05 at 9.03.31 PM 1

This is a screenshot from after I added the ‘chorus’:

Screen shot 2015-09-05 at 9.08.44 PM

The final stage of making the song was using the retiming tool on the rap so that it fit the ‘Rugrats’ sample (Effect>Change Speed). I did this by 5 or 10 percent the first few times, then 1 percent for the last few to get the timing as close as possible. However, no matter how minutely I changed the speed I could not quite get the timing perfect. I got around this by manually adding or removing small gaps in the rap every time he took a breath. This was a time consuming process, but it was the only way to line up the rap’s timing adequately.

This is the finished song:

Standard

Leave a Reply

