Video Remix # 1

For my first video remix I wanted to attempt to adapt scenes from the trailer for the film ‘American Sniper’ so as to make it a comedy.

This is the original trailer:

What I really wanted to do was incorporate ‘Joffa’ who is one of the most hated men in AFL culture. The head of the Collingwood football club cheer squad is despised by thousands; even I don’t like him and I actually barrack for Collingwood. I managed to find a good enough video of ‘Joffa’ from a highlights video:

The section of the video that I wanted to use was from 3:45 – 4:06. If you watch this section you will see that the camera zooms away from ‘Joffa’, not towards him like a sniper would zoom-in on his target. I simply reversed the frames on this footage to make it appear like the sniper was zooming in instead of out.

Screen shot 2015-09-06 at 10.45.16 AM

Once this was done I placed this video over the top of the ‘Joffa’ video:

and used the Ultra Key effect on the video to get rid of the green and make the video transparent. This is as simple as using the eye dropper tool on the green part of the sniper video.

Screen shot 2015-09-06 at 10.48.59 AM

Once this was completed I created a background sound track using an excerpt from the football highlights video where there was no commentary and only the crowd noise could be heard. I looped this crowd sound for the entirety of my remixed video.

Finally, I recorded my own voice in time with the sniper’s lips to make him have an Australian accent and say things appropriate to someone assassinating ‘Joffa’.

I also added a closing title of “The Bogan Sniper” over the closing part of the original trailer that orignally said “American Sniper”.

This is the finished video:

Standard

Leave a Reply

